Durno Murray Award

The Durno Murray Award was instigated in 2010 and is given to the author(s) for the most outstanding paper published in Corella each year.

The Award commemorates the work of Durno Murray who contributed greatly to the founding of the Association, and served in many roles in his extensive involvement in its management. Durno also contributed enormously to the development of ornithological research in Australia – particularly the study of seabirds.

The criteria for determining the  most outstanding paper published in Corella each year are:

the understanding of the specific group/species studied;

the overall significance of the findings;

study design and academic rigour; and

overall contribution to ornithology.

All papers, for that year, are appraised and rated by the Editor and sub-editors of Corella and a winner is determined by the combined rating scores;

The Award comprises a grant of $150 and a one year complimentary subscription to the Association.

Below are the titles of the winning papers since the award was instigated.

Previous recipients of this award are:

YearIssueTitleAuthor(s)Corresponding Author Email
2010Corella, 2010, 34(3): 69-73Recruitment of the Black-chinned Honeyeater Melithreptus gularis gularis in a fragmented landscape in northern New South Wales, AustraliaG. W. Lollback, H. A. Ford and S. C. Cairnsglollbac@une.edu.au
2011Corella, 2011, 35(2): 41-48Diet and breeding of White-bellied Sea-Eagles Haliaeetus leucogasterin subtropical river habitats in the Northern Territory AustraliaLaurie Corbett and Tony Hertoglkcorbett@bigpond.com
2012Corella, 2012, 36(4): 81- 89Evaluation of bird survey methods and estimators for species inventory in dry sclerophyll forestStephen L. Tottermanvanbirds@positiveearth.org
2013Corella, 2013, 37(3): 57- 61Group size and composition in the Grey-crowned Babbler Posatostomus temporalis in an urban environmentKathryn Teare Ada Lambert, David Geering and Hugh Fordklambert4@une.edu.au
2014Corella, 2014, 38(3); 63-70Modelling the nesting habitat requirements of the Wedge-tailed Eagle Aquila audax in the Australian Capital Territory using nest site characteristicsF. Hatton, P. H. Mickan, B. Gruber and J. Olsenfelicityhatton@hotmail.com
2015Corella, 2015, 39(2); 25-37A survey of outlying populations of the Grey Grasswren Amytornis barbatusAndrew Black, Graham Carpenter, Roger Jaensch, Lynn Pedler and Reece Pedlerabblack@bigpond.com
2016Corella, 2016, 40(4); 81-90Nesting and post-fledginggrowth and development in an Australian passerine: Hall's Babbler Pomatostomus HalliDean J. Portelliportellidean@gmail.com
2018Corella, 2018, 42; 1-17An historical snapshot of avian assemblages occupying three threatened forest and woodland communities in Scheyville National Park, New South Wales.J. Farrell, J. Hardy and P. Smith